Centre Court (1200 GMT/1300 local time)General view.

Centre Court (1200 GMT/1300 local time)General view.

Centre Court (1200 GMT/1300 local time)General view.

Centre Court (1200 GMT/1300 local time)

Novak Djokovic (SRB x1) v James Ward (GBR)

Camila Giorgi (ITA) v Garbine Muguruza (ESP x2)

Roger Federer (SUI x3) v Guido Pella (ARG)

Court One (1200 GMT/1300 local time)

Venus Williams (USA x8) v Donna Vekic (CRO)

Sam Groth (AUS) v Kei Nishikori (JPN x5)

Laura Robson (GBR) v Angelique Kerber (GER x4)

Court Two (1030GMT/1130 local time)

Kyle Edmund (GBR) v Adrian Mannarino (FRA)

Laura Siegemund (GER) v Madison Keys (USA x9)

Pablo Carreno Busta (ESP) v Milos Raonic (CAN x6)

Simona Halep (ROM x5) v Anna Karolina Schmiedlova (SVK)

Court Three (1030GMT/1130 local time)

Samantha Stosur (AUS x14) v Magda Linette (POL)

Dudi Sela (ISR) v David Ferrer (ESP x13)

David Goffin (BEL x11) v Alexander Ward (GBR)

Naomi Broady (GBR) v Elina Svitolina (UKR x17)

Court 12 (1030GMT/1130 local time)

Marin Cilic (CRO x9) v Brian Baker (USA)

Ekaterina Alexandrova (RUS) v Ana Ivanovic (SRB x23)

Zhang Shuai (CHN) v Carla Suarez Navarro (ESP x12)

Gael Monfils (FRA x17) v Jeremy Chardy (FRA)

Court 18 (1030GMT/1130 local time)

Sabine Lisicki (GER) v Shelby Rogers (USA)

Janko Tipsarevic (SRB) v Gilles Simon (FRA x16)

Daniel Evans (GBR) v Jan-Lennard Struff (GER)

Jelena Jankovic (SRB x22) v Stefanie Voegele (SUI)

History and statistics

2015 Men’s Singles Champion: Novak Djokovic of Serbia.

2015 Women’s Singles Champion: Serena Williams of the United States.

Last Year: Djokovic earned his third Wimbledon title by beating seven-time champion Roger Federer 7-6 (1), 6-7 (10), 6-4, 6-3, starting a run of four consecutive Grand Slam titles for the Serb. It was the second year in a row that Djokovic defeated Federer in the final at the All England Club. Williams collected her sixth Wimbledon trophy with a 6-4, 6-4 victory over Garbine Muguruza. That was Williams’ fourth straight major title and 21st overall; she has not added another since then.

Key Statistic I: 28 - Consecutive Grand Slam matches won by Djokovic, who is halfway to a true Grand Slam, which was the name given to the feat of winning all four majors in a calendar year.

Key Statistic II: 13 - Consecutive Wimbledon titles won by the “Big 4” of men’s tennis: Federer, Djokovic, Andy Murray and Rafael Nadal; Lleyton Hewitt, who has retired from singles but got a doubles wild-card entry for Wimbledon, was the last man outside of that quartet to win the championship, back in 2002.

Key Statistic III: 22 - Grand Slam singles titles won by Steffi Graf, the record for the Open era and one more than Williams has.

Not Here: Nadal, who won two of his 14 Grand Slam titles at Wimbledon, pulled out because of the left wrist injury that forced him to withdraw from the French Open. Maria Sharapova, whose first of five major trophies came at Wimbledon in 2004, is serving a suspension for failing a drug test. Another former No 1 and two-time Australian Open champion, Victoria Azarenka, is sidelined by an injured right knee.